The Club


The Club was founded by John Fay MBE, Tony Hambleton and Phil Peters at RAF Linton on Ouse in 2008. It takes its name from the formation date of the Royal Air Force.

The RAF was founded on the 1st April 1918 by Lord Trenchard, the Father of the Royal Air Force.

To date, there are around 180 members, of which 40% are serving or former serving RAF Officers. The remaining 60% are leaders in business and passionate supporters of the RAF.



A trusted force for good in and around Defence. 

Who we are

A fellowship community building relationships between the Royal Air Force and business.


  1. Develop the knowledge of Air and Space Power in the membership.
  2. Raise funds primarily for the Royal Air Force Benevolent Fund (RAFBF), Royal Air Forces Association (RAFA) and The Jon Egging Trust (JET). Any other Air and Space Power orientated charities may be considered as the committee sees fit.
  3. Assist our serving members in their transition from military service and help industry understand the qualities that ex servicemen and women offer.
  4. Inculcate the ‘always there for each other’ culture of the Club, the pride of membership, highest moral compass and credibility.


Fundraising is a major part of the Club. We have raised over just short of £900,000 so far. We have won the RAF Benevolent Fund Fundraising Team of the Year a record three times and in 2022 were awarded the Special Achievement Award by the RAF Benevolent Fund.


Since 2014 we have organised an annual tour. Touring is a massive part of the Club, its where deep friendships form and lifelong memories are created. In 2015 we went to the Falkland Islands and in 2016 we went to the Normandy Battlefields. In 2017 we visited RAF Lossiemouth and in 2018 we cycled to The Mohne Dam in Germany. In 2019 we went to Arnhem in Holland for the 75th commemorations in September. In 2022 the Club visited the US Marine Corps, The White House, The US Congress and The Indy500. In 2023 the Club visited Flanders (Belgium & France) on a WW1 Battlefield Tour. In 2024, the Club will return to the Falkland Islands and visit the Normandy WW2 Battlefields again.



Maria Lyle

Club Captain

Andy Hall MBE

Senior RAF Liaison & Advisor to the Captain and Founder

Group Captain Jim Lee RAF

RAF Futures

Tim Mycock


Will Packard

Business Liaison

Elsbeth Proctor

Digital events

Hannah Saunders


Martin Wintermeyer

Membership Secretary

Guy Wolstencroft


Jules Lynch



  1. NAME

    The name of the Club shall be The April Fools Club, hereafter referred to as the Club.


    Membership of the Club shall be open to individuals who have an affiliation with and are supportive of the RAF.

    All members are required to pay a membership fee for the year. The Committee will set a minimum requirement.

    We are a diverse and inclusive organisation. We value diversity and celebrate the contributions of people of all backgrounds, regardless of their age, ethnicity, race, colour, abilities, religion, socioeconomic status, culture, sex, sexual orientation and gender identity.

    All members will be subject to the regulations of the constitution and by joining the club will be deemed to accept these regulations and codes of conduct that the club has adopted.

    Members will be enrolled in one of the following categories:

    • Full member
    • Serving Forces member

    Membership fees will be set annually and determined at the Annual General Meeting. Fees will be paid by annual subscription.


    The purpose and objectives of the Club shall be:


      • A trusted force for good in & around defence.


      • Develop the knowledge of Air and Space Power in the membership
      • Inculcate the ‘always there for each other’ culture of the Club, the pride of membership, highest moral compass and credibility.
      • Raise funds primarily for the Royal Air Force Benevolent Fund (RAFBF, RAFA, Air Cadet Trust and The Jon Egging Trust). Any other Air and Space Power orientated charities may be considered as the committee sees fit.
      • Help RAF personnel and families in transition from the Service to realise and make the most of the opportunities in industry and for industry to understand the qualities they offer.

    The Club shall have a committee consisting of at least the following officer positions:

    • Captain, responsible for running the club for a period of 24 months.
    • Treasurer, responsible for accurate financial reporting and accounts.
    • Club Founders.
    • Appointed Committee members.

    The Captain will be selected by the committee. Any member is allowed to apply to be the Captain.

    The role of the committee is to manage all aspects of the Club’s administration. The committee shall not work autonomously. Planning activities and administering Club matters must satisfy the majority of the membership.

    The committee may invite persons to attend any of its meetings as a participant without the power to vote.

    Any vacancy within the committee shall be filled from the ordinary membership and agreed by committee.

    No member of the committee or any of the ordinary membership shall receive remuneration from the committee in money or monies worth with the exception of out-of-pocket expenses.

    The committee will meet at least six times per year.

    The chair (The Captain) shall have the power to call special meetings open to all members and can be held for the purposes of altering the constitution and for considering any matter that should be referred to the members in general. The chair should call a special meeting at the request of not less than two committee members or not less than four ordinary members.


    The committee shall convene AGMs not more than 15 months after the previous AGM. The committee shall be given not less than 21 day’s notice in writing of the AGM. The AGM shall be publicised at least 14 days in advance of the meeting.


    QUORUM: a minimum of two committee members shall form a quorum at committee meetings and a minimum of all committee members and five ordinary members shall form a quorum at AGM.

    CHAIRMAN: A chairman will be appointed for each committee meeting and for the AGM

    VOTING: every matter, except where this constitution provides otherwise, shall be determined by a majority of members present and voting. In the case of equal votes the chair of the meeting shall have the casting vote.

    MINUTES: a minute of all meetings

    The financial year shall run from 1st April to 31st March in the following year.

    The AGM will receive a report from officers of the Committee and a statement of the audited accounts.

    The Treasurer shall keep proper accounts of the finances of the committee. All incoming funds shall be lodged without deduction to the committees bank account. All monies raised by or on behalf of the committee shall be applied to further the objectives of the committee and for no other purpose. All deeds cheques, bills of exchange etc, relating to the committees bank account shall be signed by any two of the following committee members: chair, secretary, treasurer.

    An independent financial examiner elected by the committee shall annually audit the accounts of the committee.


    Any alterations to this constitution shall receive the assent of no less than two-thirds of the members present and voting at an AGM or special meeting. Provided that the secretary has received such notice of any alteration in writing no less than 21 clear days before the meeting at which the alteration is proposed.


    The committee may be dissolved by a resolution passed by a majority of members present and voting at a special meeting convened for the purpose.

    Any assets remaining after the settling of any debts and liabilities shall be applied towards the RAF Benevolent Fund or any other charity we support.


Click here to download the April Fools Club social media guidelines.